Is This Good Or Bad? You Decide… (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)

We cannot always control what happens to us, but we can always control how we respond to what happens to us; we ultimately have the final say on whether any incident is “good” or “bad”… 

It was a beautiful fall day in October 2009, and I was leaving the gym after a nice Sunday morning work-out.  It was noon, there was not a cloud in the sky, and the temperature was a nice, breezy 75 degrees.  It was perfect convertible weather.

I got into my car, put the top down on my convertible, and began a nice, leisurely drive back to my house.

Several minutes later, I was stopped at a light and I happened to glance behind me.  I noticed something on the cushion right behind the driver’s seat.  After closer inspection, I realized that a bird had decided to leave me a “present.”  Immediately, I got really annoyed.  I thought to myself, “Wow, how unlucky is that?  It landed on my backseat!  I can’t believe I’m gonna have to clean that up!”

The light turned green, and I started to drive the remaining distance back to my house.  I asked myself what good could come from what had just happened, and I started to laugh out loud.

I suddenly realized how lucky I was that the bird had used my backseat as its toilet.  This was actually a great thing!

Why was this “good?”  Well, if the bird had aimed about 2 feet further north, it would have crapped on my head…

Thanks for reading!

-Pete Leibman

College Speaker and President of Idealize Enterprises

Pete@IdealizeNow.com

www.linkedin.com/in/peteleibman

www.IdealizeNow.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude

Leave a Reply

