Is your mindset preventing you from getting your dream job? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)

The first key to achieving any goal is to believe it is possible.

When I was a teenager, basketball was my passion.  I played for hours every day, and given all that practice, I eventually got pretty good.  However, I was very cautious on the court.  I played point guard and had convinced myself that I was not a great scorer.  I often passed up open shots in order to try to set up my teammates, and I played with hesitation because of a fear of making a bad play.

My father had played basketball in college, and he coached the basketball team I played on for my church.  We were out to lunch one day when I was a sophomore in high school, and we were discussing the game we had that night. 

He said, “Pete, you are hurting yourself as a player and hurting the team by being so cautious on the court.  For tonight only, I want you to try something.  I want you to try to score at least 20 points.  I don’t care how many assists you get.  I don’t care how many turnovers you have.  I don’t even care if the team wins.  Just try to get 20.”

I responded: “Dad, I’ve never scored more than 13 points in a game!  How am I going to score 20?!”

He said, “Just give it a try, and see what happens.” 

Since he was my father (and my coach!), I said I would do my best.

So, I went out that night with my only goal being to score 20 points, and guess what happened?  I saw opportunities to score that I had never seen before, and I did some things on the court that I had never done before.  I ended up scoring 24 points… and, we won by 30!

Why did that happen?  Had I suddenly become a better scorer in a matter of hours?  Of course not.  I scored more than 20 points for the first time in my life because I was focused on my goal and because I had told myself that it was possible.  By being open-minded, I removed the internal, artificial barrier I had previously placed on myself (that it was not possible for me to score more than 20 points in a game), and I saw opportunities to score that had previously been invisible to me.

It was the first time I fully realized how your performance is directly linked to what you tell yourself you can or cannot do.

The first key to getting your dream job, starting a successful business, or achieving any goal is to believe it is possible.  Without an open-minded, positive mindset, you will not be able to see how you can get where you want to be.

What might you be telling yourself (consciously or subconsciously) is not possible?  Why not tell yourself that it IS possible instead?  To quote my dad, “Just give it a try, and see what happens.”

-Pete Leibman

-Career Expert and Professional Speaker

-President of Idealize Enterprises

Pete@IdealizeNow.com

www.IdealizeNow.com

www.linkedin.com/in/peteleibman

Blog: http://CareerMuscles.Wordpress.com

@peteleibman

P.S. I speak about career success to students and young professionals nationwide.  To learn more about my programs and speaking availability for the 2011 Dream Job College Tour, please send an email to Pete@IdealizeNow.com. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Confidence, Get Your Dream Job NOW, Peak Performance

Leave a Reply

