Do You Know Why Resumes Are Totally Overrated? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)

As an author and keynote speaker on career success, I attend and/or speak at career development events each month.  When I visit the vendor booths at these conferences, it amazes me to see some of the questionable products that vendors are trying to sell to job-seekers and college Career Centers.  The majority of these products claim they have the secret formula on what it takes to make your resume stand out from the competition. 

Equally worthless are job search books that focus 50% or more of their pages on resumes.  If I had to assign a percentage to the role a resume plays in a job search, I would estimate less than 10%, due to the importance of your job search strategy, your attitude, your references, your body language, your networking skills, your presentation skills, your interviewing skills, and so on.    

Some top employers receive hundreds or thousands of unsolicited resumes every week.  Good luck standing out in a pile of 13,279 resumes.  The best way to stand out in a mile-high stack of resumes is not to use keywords or a high-tech software program to beat a computer system’s screening process.  The best way to stand out in a stack of resumes is to never end up in the stack in the first place!

How did I beat out hundreds of more experienced candidates to land my first dream job to work for an NBA franchise when I was a 21 year-old kid who had never even had a full-time job before?  It certainly wasn’t because of my resume. 

How did I land multiple 6-figure job offers at the start of the current recession?  It certainly wasn’t because of my resume.  In fact, two of the companies who made me those 6-figure offers brought me in for initial interviews before they even saw my resume!

Don’t get me wrong: a bad resume can certainly remove you from consideration.  However, even a professionally designed resume is not sufficient to land your dream job (or any job).  You need a lot more to distinguish yourself and land your dream job, especially in the current climate.

Here is the bottom line: Employers don’t hire resumes; employers hire people! 

P.S. To receive a FREE 25-page report on Job Search and Career Success Secrets for Students and Young Professionals, visit my web site at www.PeteLeibman.com

-Pete Leibman (Pete@DreamJobAcademy.com)

-Author of “I Got My Dream Job And So Can You: The Blueprint For Career Success As A Young Professional” (due out through AMACOM in spring 2012)

-Founder of Dream Job Academy

-Keynote Speaker for The Dream Job College Tour

Creator of The Washington Wizards’ Sports Careers Day

Explore posts in the same categories: Get Your Dream Job NOW, Resumes

One Comment on “Do You Know Why Resumes Are Totally Overrated? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)”


  1. […] Away (Video Blog) Why Credentials Are Overrated 7 Secrets For Dealing With Difficult People At Work Why The Value Of Your Resume Is Totally Overrated Is Your Email Inbox Destroying Your […]


Leave a Reply

