Do you know why it’s easier to get your dream job than most other jobs? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)

One reason I got a front-office job in the NBA at such a young age (while being rejected or ignored by other opportunities that had much less competition) is because of how badly I wanted the job in the NBA.  This burning desire oozed out of me when I was networking and when I was interviewing, and it made me a much more appealing candidate. 

On the other hand, when I applied to jobs I learned about through job boards or career fairs or on-campus recruiting (i.e. opportunities I had absolutely no interest in), it was incredibly difficult for me to sell myself in a compelling manner.  I had to fake my interest, and employers were not fooled.  In hindsight, I’m VERY thankful those organizations blew me off!  If they had hired me anyway, I would have ended up like most young professionals who hate their first job out of college.

Most people find job searches draining because they are going after the wrong jobs!  When you are going after your dream job, your job search can actually be enjoyable (crazy thought, huh?) because of how excited you will be by what is waiting for you at the end of the tunnel. 

You will be much more motivated during your job search if your goal is to get your “dream job” than if your goal is to get “a job.”  Your motivation will lead to a more resourceful, positive mindset than if you just do what everyone else does and aim low.  A better attitude will also make you more appealing as a job-seeker.

It is incredibly satisfying and empowering to go after your dreams with every ounce of your energy, and even more amazing when you reach your destination.  Sadly, few people ever experience this phenomenon because they don’t understand the relationship between desire, motivation, and performance.

If you ever find yourself lacking motivation (during your job search or your career), it’s probably because you are not aiming high enough.  Believe it or not, you are more likely to succeed when you aim high…

P.S. To receive a FREE 25-page report on Job Search and Career Success Secrets for Students and Young Professionals, visit my web site at www.PeteLeibman.com

-Pete Leibman (Pete@DreamJobAcademy.com)

-Author of “I Got My Dream Job And So Can You!” (due out through AMACOM in spring 2012)

-Founder of Dream Job Academy

-Keynote Speaker for The Dream Job College Tour

Creator of The Washington Wizards’ Sports Careers Day

Explore posts in the same categories: Get Your Dream Job NOW, Peak Performance, Success

One Comment on “Do you know why it’s easier to get your dream job than most other jobs? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)”

  1. paayal Says:

    Love the article. It is so true!


Leave a Reply

