Do You Know Why The Economy Does Not Matter For Your Job Search? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)

It drives me CRAZY when people use the economy as an excuse for not being able to land their dream job (or any job).

You don’t need me to bombard you with stats about the recession.  The media has already done more than enough of that.  I’ll just say this.

Take a look at national unemployment data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics over the last 50 years or so.  (This is also great reading material for insomniacs.)

You will see that unemployment has always fluctuated up and down with peaks in the 8-10% range (where it was in 2011) versus valleys in the 2-4 percent range.  Where will it be in the next few years?  Who knows?

More importantly, who cares? 

Let me state the obvious since so many people seem to be missing it.  How many jobs do you need to get? 

One job!  Not 100 jobs.  Not 25 jobs.  Not even 3 jobs.  You just need 1 job.  That’s it. 

There is absolutely nothing you could say that could convince me that you have a legitimate reason to be worried about getting hired due to a down economy.  I shared this philosophy with one of my mentors who encouraged me to tone down my stance for fear of offending some people, but I won’t.  The economy is only a problem if you think it’s a problem.  Don’t worry about unemployment statistics.  Don’t allow yourself to be brainwashed into a state of fear by the media. 

When I was a senior in college, unemployment was the highest it had been in 10 years.  I still landed my dream job even though I had never even had a full-time job before. 

Here is the truth: The economy does NOT matter when you know how to conduct a job search.  You just need one job.

P.S. To receive a FREE 25-page report on Job Search and Career Success Secrets for Students and Young Professionals, visit my web site at www.PeteLeibman.com

-Pete Leibman (Pete@DreamJobAcademy.com)

-Author of “I Got My Dream Job And So Can You!” (due out through AMACOM in spring 2012)

-Founder of Dream Job Academy

-Keynote Speaker for The Dream Job College Tour

Creator of The Washington Wizards’ Sports Careers Day

Explore posts in the same categories: Attitude, Get Your Dream Job NOW

2 Comments on “Do You Know Why The Economy Does Not Matter For Your Job Search? (written by Career Expert, Pete Leibman)”

  1. Bill Boteler Says:

    I think you should tone it down a little bit. There must be a reason why some people are suffering more in this economy (older unemployed workers, longer term unemployed persons, minorities, etc.) The statistics mean something. In fact, some royal jerks of the employer category have as much as said they would NOT HIRE UNEMPLOYED PEOPLE.

    That said, what you are basically stating here could be a very uplifting and powerful message. However, I think you would do better to back it up with examples of how it all works or at least annecdotes of how successful job seekers made it through the process.

    It is a balance. Some people do just want an excuse to give up. But others really need hope and they do not need to feel down on themselves like they are not trying hard enough or something when things are tough like this. I can’t stress that enough – most job seekers need to feel better abouit themselves.


  2. […] Networking Is Not All About Who You Know Why The Economy Does Not Matter For Your Job Search Why A Back-Up Plan Is A Bad Idea (Video Blog) 3 Little-Known Reasons Why Networking Is The Best Job […]


Leave a Reply

